Legit.ng News ★ 36 states in Nigeria, their capitals and slogans Nigeria consists of 36 states, every state has its own capital, and slogan. All states and capital in Nigeria are divided into 4 regions which are namely: S. No State Capital … Please help improve this article by adding citations to reliable sources. List of 36 States in Nigeria with their Capitals, Current Governors, and Title (slogan). 1. In addition, discover several interesting details and information surrounding those states, including their slogans and year of creation. The following is a list of Nigerian State capitals. Here is the list of all the 36 states in Nigeria and Abuja and their Local Government Areas. Actually, Nigeria has 36 states and one federal capital territory. See Also: 37 Functions Local Governments in Nigeria This article does … Learn how and when to remove this template message, "Do you know all the states and capitals of Nigeria? Nigeria, as a nation, first became a republic in the year 1963, but there were some issues that caused it to succumb to the military rule just three years after a … Don’t worry, because we’ve got your back, here’s the names of all the 36 states of Nigeria and their Capitals. Finally, 36 states and capitals were recorded in Nigeria in the year, 1996 under the government of Abacha. List of capitals of states of Nigeria. Unsourced material may be challenged and removed October 2017) (Learn how and when to remove this template message) The following is a list of Nigerian State capitals. Nigeria is a federation of 36 states and 1 Federal Capital Territory. List of capitals of states of Nigeria. Between 1960 and 1963, Nigeria was only divided into 3 regions. Aba North, Aba South, Arochukwu, Bende, Isiala Ngwa South, Ikwuano, Isiala, Ngwa North, Isukwuato, Ukwa West, Ukwa East, Umuahia, Umuahia South. The answer to the above question is quite simple. But back then there were only three regions. They were called eastern region, western region and northern region. List of State And Capital In Nigeria. Then in 1991, states in Nigeria increased to 21. Most of these resources have not yet being tapped or even used for the enrichment and development of Nigeria and her citizens. Gradually, the list of states in Nigeria increased to 19. There are currently 36 states in Nigeria with the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja as the Federal Capital Territory. Each of the 36 states is a semi-autonomous political unit that shares powers with the Federal Government as enumerated under the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. Abia State (17 Local Government Areas). As a Nigerian or a student studying in Nigeria is a big shame to be asked about the 36 States in Nigeria with their Capitals, Current Governors and Title (slogan) and he/she is unable to answer. The Federal Capital Territory, also known as FCT, is the capital of Nigeria and located in the city of Abuja. Although my focus in this article is to look at the list of States in Nigeria and their capitals, I will love to, first of all, say that Nigeria has thirty-six (36) states and the Federal Capital Territory (FTC) inclusive. Over the course of time, those three regions were […] Nigeria got her independence on the 1st of October in 1960. From 1963 to 1967, Nigeria had 4 regions instead of three because of the carving out of the mid western region out of the old western region. Language; Watch; Edit; This article does not cite any sources. Know the 36 states in Nigeria and their capitals. It’s a must that every academic student of the Nigerian Universities , knows the Names of all states and most especially, their capitals, because it might seems childish, but yes! Find List of States in Nigeria with Latitude and Longitude and popular places in Nigeria. This is the full list of states in Nigeria and I think it’s very important that every Nigerian should know how many states we have. The full list of all natural resources in Nigeria, their location in the various 36 states in Nigeria is what this post is all about.