The Southern states are the states located at the southern part or southern region of Nigeria. Cross River state is also known for the production of oil and gas. There is also Nnewi, a town in Anambra that has most of the richest igbo business men within the state. There are also some points of interest found in this region. Enugu is a major state in the southeastern region of Nigeria. It was later broken down into the five states listed above when Nigeria was divided into geopolitical zones and as stated above, the main language of the region is Igbo. The South-eastern region had about 12 states initially during the Nigerian Civil War. Imo State. Delta state got its name from the delta of River Niger. It is also said that the Igbo people are also industrious in nature. Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment. Bayelsa state is found in the lower Southern area of the Niger Delta region. Well, you need to know that Nigeria is divided into 6 geo political zones. Talk about the beautiful beaches in the states, the beautiful view of the tropical rain forests, and many more relaxation centers, you’ll want to be there. There are tourist centers in Cross River state and they are; Cross River National Park, Afi Mountain Wildlife Sanctuary, Obudu Mountain Resort, Drill Monkey Ranch, Calabar museum, Agbokim waterfalls and many more. Chizoba is a seasoned Information blogger, content developer and the founder of Nigerian Infopedia. Rivers state has a land mass of 11,077 square kilometers and has multi-ethnic groups like Engenni, Andoni, Abua, Ibanni, Okrika, Ikwerre and others. It was carved out from Abia and Enugu states and is also one of the five states in the South Eastern region of Nigeria. You have entered an incorrect email address! it has multi-ethnic groups which some of them are; Igbriran, Atissa, Biseni, Kolokunu and other ethnic groups. Cross River State is one of the world’s biodiversity hotspots because more than half of the land is seen as tropical rain forests. Lagos State. This state is among the oil producing states in the federation and has the following natural resources: crude oil, lead, natural gas, calcium cabornate and zinc. One of the most popular cities in Edo state is Benin City. Nigerian Infopedia is Nigeria's authoritative top quality information website that provides resourceful information about her culture, people and things associated with Nigerians. FCT (Federal Capital Territory Abuja) and Niger state. The South East Nigeria consist of 5 states which are Abia state, Anambra state, Ebonyi state, Enugu state and Imo state. The state was established in 1991 after it was carved out from Imo State which is bounded to by the west. These states are seen as the main sources behind development of Nigeria’s economy because they are blessed with mineral and natural resources. Bayelsa State has a population of about 1,704,515 people. Delta state has a land mass of 18,050 square kilometers and has 25 local government areas. The Nigeria geographical zones and their states are the major division of Nigeria in terms of region and location. It is of popular opinion that these states have the largest oil production in Nigeria and are blessed with a lot of mineral resources and natural resources which has been contributing positively to the richness of the states. They feel marginalized as they claim that the government of Nigeria have seriously negelcted them especially when it comes to allocations, occupying important seats in government and also welfare. The South eastern region is part of the 6 geopolitical zones in Nigeria mostly dominated by the Igbo speaking states. The North East consist of 6 states which are; Yobe state, Taraba state, Adamawa state, Bauchi state, Gombe state and Borno state. Tips for Ensuring Height Safety for Construction Workers, The Biggest Misconceptions About Online Gambling, Detailing How to Make BTC Sports Betting In Internet on 1xBit, Get Betting On Movies At 1xBet And Make Even More Money, IrokoBet Review – Everything You Need to Know. Another popular tourist center in Akwa Ibom state is the Ibeno Sand Beach which is one of the perfect places for relaxation. This state is a multi-ethnic state, i.e. For the benefit of doubt, we will list out the 5 states that makes up the south eastern part of Nigeria and also show you the eastern Nigerian map that will clearly show the name of the states, their capitals and size. Delta state has a population of about 4.1 million people. No wonder, they boast of the sucessful business men who are movers and shakers of the Nigerian economy. It shares borders with River state to the south while it shares boundaries to the north by Anambra, Ebonyi and Enugu states respectively. Delta state was formed in 1991. These Southern states have their own regions which separates them from the other regions, be it from other Southern parts or the Northern parts of Nigeria. This state is blessed with different mineral resources like lime stones, tar sand, crude oil, lignite, suitable industrial clays, rocks and other natural resources. Sports Betting Or Live Casino — Which One Is Better. Edo state also have tourist centres and some of them are; Okonu National park, Oba’s palace, Benin city Museum, Ososo Tourist centre, Sand Beaches of Agenebode, Rumat park, idoma Hill, Ogba zoological Garden and more. Onitsha city still remains the commercial hub and the most important area of the state where business thrives. The North Central is regarded a Middle belt region in Nigeria and it consist of 6 states as well and these states are; Kogi state, Benue state, Kwara state, Plateau state. The following table presents a listing of Nigeria's 36 states ranked in order of their total GDP … If yes, then you would need to keep reading for you would definitely encounter them below. The slogan of the state is “Light of the nation” and it has lived up to that bidding. You have entered an incorrect email address! There are a lot of tourist centers in Akwa Ibom state and some of these tourist centers are Oron museum (where valuable antiquities and artifacts are kept), Lord Lugard Residence (where Lord Lugard once lived during his stay in Nigeria before Nigeria gained Independence). Contact us: [email protected]. The most popular city in Rivers state is Port Harcourt, the capital city of the state. The predominant religion in this state is Christianity. There are only 6 states in South-South Nigeria and these states are commonly known for their active involvement and contribution in the development of Nigeria’s economy. Delta State. Edo state has a land mass of 19,794 square kilometers and share boundaries with Kogi state, Delta state, Ekiti state and Ondo state. As for the agricultural sector, which is also an important sector in the state’s economy, it contributes about 30% to the states GDP and employs a workforce of nearly 20,000 persons within the state. You should as well know that the name Bayelsa was gotten from three former local governments’ areas which are; Brass local government, Yenagoa local government and Sagbama local government.